Freedom, Catch Ups, and Cleaning

EscapeGreetings!

Tonight, about one hour ago actually, I submitted my final three assignments for my Masters degree. I am now officially uni free! I am also almost very officially a qualified librarian! *leaps about*. I know I should be using this time to sleep, but when you are permanently exhausted and haven’t gone to bed at any time before 1, 2, or 3am in the past two months, what is one more day going to hurt. And this way I get to share my excitement! I should be saying that it has been a very long three months for this semester, and a very long two years doing this degree but I was thinking earlier how it actually has gone rather quickly. Naturally at certain times and at the beginning of the degree it seemed like forever, and some semesters just went on like you wouldn’t believe but now, I can’t believe it is over.

Because of uni work and then all the excitement a couple weeks ago with the National Book Bloggers Forum, The Fault in Our Stars Screening, and four very long and very fulfilling days at the Sydney Writers Festival I have not been able to post anything about them let alone any book reviews. So you have been warned I will be doing a mass catch up and getting on those as soon as possible so you can belatedly enjoy all my adventures. Those on Facebook and Twitter may have already been bombarded with a mass of quotes, especially about the SWF but when everyone is so quotable how can you not share the joy?

In some housekeeping news, I started running an international giveaway a couple of days ago to win an ecopy of Rachel Amphlett’s upcoming book Before Nightfall which you can read about and enter here. Also I have my review coming up of the book on its official release day on the 5th. On the 4th however, I have another blog tour day for The Sense of Touch, a series of stories by Ron Parsons so watch out for that review as well!

In actually housekeeping news, I am super excited to finally be able to clean! I don’t even want to tell you about the state of my office. Truly it looks like those pages from the I Spy  books, random things on the floor to spot. Looking around I can see books stacked all over the floor from two writers festivals, a book fair, numerous competition wins, two goodie bags from NBBF, and a pile I had to pull out for a uni activity; I have a sewing basket because who doesn’t on their floor? I have six random bags of various sizes and type, a small tutu, a pile of DVDs teetering on the edge of my desk, a small knitted duck, paper EVERYWHERE from discarded essays, receipts, old travel directions and other information from said writers festivals and events, wool, canvas bags, and randomly a Kewpie doll. I’m always amazed I don’t trip and break a limb or something every time I leave the safety of this chair. But tomorrow it all changes! I can finally scratch that itch and take a day to myself to just clean the room of everything! Put things way, find places for new things. It’ll be wonderful.

I am really looking forward to catching up my many reviews though, I have actually managed to sneak in a few couple of reads over the last few weeks so they will be fun. I cannot wait to wake up tomorrow and my first thought not have to be about uni, nor to get up and sit back down in front of this computer where I left probably only a handful of  hours before to do more uni work. I can instead get up and make it all about the blog and reviews! Which is absolutely a much better option. And I think just getting to finally stop is going to be wonderful. Nothing to worry about, nothing to stress about. Just do what I please when I please. Oh I have waited a very long time for this. June has always been my goal. June, June, June, everything is happening in June. I am just glad I forgot how many days there were in May and get to start my life uni free while still in May!

So, now that I have unloaded all that on you and I have finally been unchained from my computer I am going to go, then I can slowly start working off this cabin fever I’ve developed and get back into bringing you all sorts of great things.

But now, we sleep.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rlsharpe
    May 31, 2014 @ 23:26:13

    Congratulations on finishing your assignments and completing uni!

    Like

    Reply

  2. allvce
    May 31, 2014 @ 11:59:23

    Yay!

    I agree completely, it feels like the year has flown by but in actual fact sometimes it dragged by so slowly. The description of your office as like an I Spy book is hilarious!!!

    Like

    Reply

    • Amy
      May 31, 2014 @ 12:31:15

      The best part is all that is going to end up in the hallway at some point today. Last time I cleaned when it looked like this it looked like I’d been robbed or something. After months like that it looked really odd.

      Like

      Reply

      • allvce
        May 31, 2014 @ 17:41:05

        Yeah, I always have to make mess to clean a room. Its terrible like that! Plus then you get distracted by all the things you find and read 😛 Or you just don’t clean and get distracted by The Sims 😉

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Reply

