Happy (Belated) New Year, Everyone!

NYELook who has returned! I have not disappeared in the mysteriousness that is New Year. I know this is a terrible way to start the year, being absent for the first ten days and I promise this is not a foreshadowing of what the year will be like. It was just so hard to pull myself away from the relaxing time I was having doing nothing to actually start doing something. After a hectic Christmas and December it was so wonderful being able to relax after everything wound down after New Year so I am not really going to apologise any further.

I have noticed though that a lot of my holiday posts seem to be belated recently but as I say I was so busy over Christmas and through December I was really enjoying the week (and a bit) of doing nothing but watching TV and eating leftovers. I will say I started the year out with good intentions. I began the new year reading which was very productive I thought. I read one of my brilliant QI fact books that I had gotten for Christmas on New Year’s Day. It was fantastic, just like the others were.

One thing that has dragged me away from my relaxation is the fact I am now house sitting. I was hoping to use this house sitting time to be productive and separate myself from the distractions of home, but with two golden retrievers and the internet at my fingertips it has yet to prove useful. But at only two days in and eight days left anything could happen. I know once I start writing I will get back into the hang of it, but having a break over Christmas really stops your flow, it is a lot of work to get yourself back into the regular routine. Which is true for everything I suppose. I always marvelled that after six weeks off over Christmas, the first day back at school always feels like you’ve never left. Without the luxury of being forced back into blogging by government laws I must make my own motivations and I am taking the guilt trip route. Too much time off is never a good thing and it makes me feel unproductive.

So now I’m sitting here, on a strange computer, contemplating and trying to find the motivation that is going to kick off my year. I am contemplating to the new album by The Script at the moment which I have to say it is brilliant. There is something particularly magnificent about listening to powerful songs at full volume, it gets your heart going, you feel like you can conquer the world and there is nothing you cannot do. This is how I am going to motivate myself into diving head first into this year. I have allowed myself the luxury of a week (plus a bit more) of relaxing and now it is time to get going again. New year, new goals, and new motivations!

One of the first things I must do is thank everyone who is already sending in review requests. It is good to see having to close submissions for so long last year has not affected things too much which make me so pleased. I hope more come and I look forward to reading all your wonderful books as well as many more throughout the year. One of my goals for the year is to try and read some of the books I already own as well so I am implementing a “one request, one owned” system to try and get through my TBR pile, but more on my goals later.

I should also add in here I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s doing whatever it was you were doing. I had a great night, I had some friends over for a mini soiree where we played some games, drank wine, and watch the fireworks both on TV and those nearby. If you do not yet know about my absolute fascination and adoration of fireworks you must catch yourself up. Two important things to remember are that I will never say a bad word about them and that they must be watched at every possible chance for whatever reason.

I have many wonderful things planned for this year. I have a blogiversary coming up super soon and many goals which I will fill you all in on later when I know about them myself! I am looking to get a review up in the next day or two as well meaning this year is definitely (and finally) in full swing here at Lost in a Good Book!

So welcome to 2015 everyone, may good books be forever at your disposal, and you read something spectacular!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allvce
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 15:43:31

    Happy Bleated New Year back!

    Your ‘one request, one owned’ goal seems like a good idea! Sounds like it might free up some time for you to do the reviews while reading your own book 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Amy
      Jan 11, 2015 @ 19:51:51

      Not that I didn’t love getting requests but they did take up most of my year and I bought so many new books I haven’t had a chance to read them yet. Hopefully I can keep it up.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Jess
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 13:15:41

    Happy 2015 Amy and Lost In A Good Book, I hope its a productive and fun filled one 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

