Happy Easter!

EasterA very happy Easter to you all! I hope the Easter bunny was good to you this year and if you were lucky enough to also get a long weekend, then I hope you enjoyed a nice break. I spent my long weekend relaxing and surprise, surprise, some reading! Which while not that much of a stray from my usual routine (but usually with less relaxing), it was still very nice. Easter Sunday was spent eating too much chocolate which resulted in me feeling slightly ill but as my mother said, “I don’t think it’s Easter without making yourself sick on chocolate” so that makes it ok. Having been going non-stop for months it felt very strange doing almost nothing, even if it was only three days and it made me feel like I hadn’t done anything in weeks which was quite disorientating. I had to remind myself that it had only been three days and the world was not going to come to an end. Today I started busying myself again so while still in long weekend mode I was trying not to get too complacent and fall behind again.

In honour of the Easter long weekend, I thought I would quickly provide you with some Easter Fun Facts because who doesn’t love a good fun fact?

Easter Fun Fact #1

While the bunny was used as early as the 1500s in Germany when discussing Easter, the first mention of the Easter Bunny bringing eggs for Easter was in a book by Georg Frankck von Frankenau in 1680. The book was called “De ovis paschalibus” (About Easter Eggs) and refers to the tradition of bringing eggs to children.

Easter Fun Fact #2

The word Easter dates back to early England and is thought to relate to Ēostre, Pagan goddess of spring and fertility.

Easter Fun Fact #3

The reason the Easter date always changes is because it’s based on the lunar calendar and the position of the moon. Easter is celebrated on the Sunday after the full moon following March 21st. Which sounds like a very complicated way to deal with things.

Easter Fun Fact #4

The first Easter egg was made in 1873 by Fry’s of Bristol. Which you can read more about in my Easter post from last year.

Easter Fun Fact #5

The tradition of giving eggs at Easter has been traced back to Egyptians, Persians, Gauls, Greeks and Romans, for whom the egg was a symbol of life.

So there you go, some nice things you may not have realised about Easter. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and managed not to get any chocolate on your books!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allvce
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 23:52:08

    Love the fun facts!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 18:10:20

    I just realised that you categorised this as rambles! Love it!
    Happy Easter to you too Amy! I hope you had a fantastic long weekend full of too much chocolate and good cheer just ‘cuz 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

