Books to Read if you Loved Harry Potter

While Harry Potter is such a wonderful series to read, the problem is there are only 7 books to read. Of course rereading them is always an option, but there are numerous books and series out there that can satisfy your need for stories as wonderful and magical as the wizarding world. But of course, if you can’t escape that wizarding world, there’s a few extras that allow you to keep reading about everything Harry Potter.

I’ve listed a selection of books below but there are many lists out there that offer suggestions to satisfy your cravings for magic and wonder. I’ve included these below as well.

Fiction

His Dark Materials

Readers of this blog know of my love of this series and I can personally guarantee that the feels, the drama, and the action you experience in Harry Potter are replicated in their own magical way in this series.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

If you liked the strong ties and references to mythology in Rowling’s series, then Rick Riordan’s series will be right up your alley as he brings mythology to life and offers a wonderful cast of characters.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

This is a wonderful book and series, Howl is a wizard with a floating castle and Sophie is a girl who is cursed and begins to work for him. It’s funny, a wonderful mix of magic and reality, and Howl is brilliantly dramatic which is all sorts of fun.

Artemis Fowl

This is a series that is absolutely wonderful! Artemis is a 12 year old genius who is determined to prove the existence of fairies. What he discovers though is an entire secret world with all sorts of creatures who aren’t too pleased to have been discovered. It’s a great mix of technology

and magic with great characters, fantastic storylines and as much emotion and adventure as the Harry Potter books.

 The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman

This story is about Quentin Coldwater, a high school genius who gets admitted into a magical school and discovers the magical world. But things aren’t as wonderful as they appear (sound familiar)

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

I adore this book. It is a story of a young boy who loves book and is trying to cope with the death of his mother. He discovers a strange world where fairytales are real life, but these fairytales are not the same as the stories you know.

The Thinking Woman’s Guide To Real Magic by Emily Croy Baker

A woman who is unhappy with her life passes through a portal into another world, a world full of magic. She initially thinks this is a much better place, but the fairytale world is much darker than it first appears. The question is, will she return to her old life if given the chance?

The Alchemyst: The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

A fun Harry Potter fact: the infamous Nicholas Flamel who created the Philosopher’s Stone is based on a suspected real figure who is rumoured to have created a Philosopher’s Stone to achieve immortality. This could be an interesting read if you want to know some more about him.

Non-Fiction Books

Harry, A History by Melissa Anelli

Anelli takes us on a personal journey through every aspect of the original and developing Harry Potter phenomenon and the decade in which it took over the world. Anelli was lucky enough to experience it all first hand, from stopping leaks, to interviewing the queen JK Rowling herself, and running the website The Leaky Cauldron. Fair warning, this one seems like a hit and miss for people. Super fans seem to love it, but have a sticky beak at the reviews to see if it would be your kind of thing. I think it would interested in reading it just to see her experience of it, but I don’t expect it to be a detailed account of everything Harry Potter.

The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter: A Treasurey of Myths, Legends, and Fascinating Facts

A companion book of sorts filled with all the references and history behind the names of characters and all the wealth of knowledge Rowling has drawn on in creating her wizarding world.

There are a lot of obvious other books I could list but I will leave that up to the links or I’ll be here forever. If there are any books or series you’d recommend feel free to let me know in the comments below. Goodreads also has a list of books aptly titled If You Liked Harry Potter You Might Like… if you are looking for a much longer list. They also have a list called Best Books About Harry Potter which interestingly includes some books that seem like fanfiction that have been published, I’m certainly intrigued looking at some of these summaries. But among them are gems of non-fiction books if you have a scroll through.

Extra Bits and Pieces

19 Books to Read if You Loved Harry Potter

11 Books All Harry Potter Fans Must Read

10 Books for Adults That Are Just As Magical as the Harry Potter Series

17 Books to Read If You Like Harry Potter & Miss the Wizarding World

9 Books to Read If You Loved Harry Potter

Advertisements

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashleigh
    Jun 28, 2017 @ 11:50:11

    I’ve read his Dark Materials, the first book, Northern Lights/The Golden Compass is my favourite!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: